St Aidan’s, Derrylin claim MacCormack Cup after win over Coláiste Feirste in hard-fought final

January 13, 2024

Danske Bank MacCormack Cup final: St Aidan’s, Derrylin 0-9 Coláiste Feirste 0-6

LAST September St Aidan’s Derrylin celebrated their half century, but in all that time the small rural Fermanagh school hadn’t won a provincial football title.

That is no longer the situation after they hit Coláiste Feirste for six in the first half in Augher on Friday and survived an injury time scare to collect the Danske Bank MacCormack Cup, watched on by a crowd of almost 2,000.

After a scoreless first quarter Derrylin, with some brilliant play from the full-back line and Thomas Cathcart dominant at full forward, pulled clear to build up an interval lead of 0-6 to 0-0.

Cathcart scored just once but set up scores for Ronan Fitzpatrick and Alex McCafferty as St Aidan’s took control of the tie.

However, Coláiste Feirste roared back into contention in the 11 minutes after the break with points from Noah O’Donnell, Nathan McKenna, Oisín Cusack and free-taker Fionbharr McKernan.

Derrylin looked in bother but Cathcart won a kick out and St Aidan’s worked a 20 metres free that Dan O’Connor converted.

Although McKernan responded with a free at the other end, O’Connor took the score of the game after good work from Cathcart in the left corner.

Then he and McKernan exchanged points from frees as the game closed into the final few minutes with St Aidan’s three up.

Fermanagh supporters had to hold their collective breath in injury time as Cathcart hit a relatively easy free short and then Aaron Quinn flashed a shot off their crossbar.

But it all worked out for St Aidan’s and the game ended in wild celebrations.

St Aidan’s D O’Connor 0-5 (0-3 frees), R Fitzpatrick, A McCafferty, T Cathcart and R Wray 0-1 each.
Coláiste Feirste F McKernan 0-3 frees, N O’Donnell, N McKenna and O Cusack 0-1 each

By Seamas McAleenan Published in The Irish News January 12, 2024


Watch Entire Game here