Red High hit 10 to keep McGreevy

November 14, 2019

Dankse Bank McGreevy Cup final
St Patrick’s Downpatrick 10-6 St Patrick’s Keady 2-3
KEADY resistance to St Patrick’s Downpatrick in this Dankse Bank McGreevy Cup final
In Hilltown stood up to scrutiny for around 20 minutes, but once Cian Clarke scored his second goal shortly after there was only going to be one winner.
Clarke was brilliant again for the Red High, who have now captured this title three times in the last four seasons. He was well supported by Cathal Moreland while Leigh Morgan and David Morrisey battled well at midfield with Jack Loughran and Tom Fox who along with Peter Keegan, were Keady’s top performers on the night.
Keady competed well at the start and, helped by goals from Peter McKeever and Daragh McKenna trailed by just a point after 20 minutes with DJ Farrell and Clarke scoring goals fro Downpatrick.
Then Clarke hit the net for a second time and Matthew Dorrian also added two goals for the Red High to move into a commanding lead at the interval, 5-3 to 2-2.
Keady were only to core once more in the game, a point from Tom Fox, while the East Down school doubled their first half total.
Five more goals, with Clarke eventually finishing with four goals and three points while substitute Cormac McEvoy made an impression during his late five minute cameo by scoring the tenth and final goal for the Red High.
Downpatrick: S Dorrian, C McCourt, R McNulty, M McGeehan, N McAufield, S Connolly, M Murray, L Morgan capt. (1-0), D Morrissey, F Magee (1-0), DJ Farrell (1-2), R Byres, C Clarke (4-2), M Dorrian (2-0), C Mooreland (0-1).
Subs: A Birt for C McCourt, G Doran for M Murray, C Smith for M McGeehan, C McEvoy (1-0) for F Magee, J Fitzsimons for M Dorrian

Keady : J Hatzer, J McGuinness, E McEneaney, D Burke, L Rafferty, P Keeagn, J Loughran, T Fox capt. (0-2), D McKenna, C McNally, S og McNaughton, C Lappin, P McKeever (1-0), T Doyle, G Short (1-0).
Subs : E McEneaney for T Doyle, A Hughes or D Burke, T O’Mally for S McNaughton, A Ward for C Lappin, R Mallon for G Short