MacRory wins for Bessbrook and holders

November 15, 2017

Danske Bank MacRory Cup

St Paul’s Bessbrook 4-12 St Ciaran’s Ballygawley 3-9

St Paul’s Bessbrook made it two wins from two starts in the MacRory Cup with a devastating opening half in Clonmore yesterday against St Ciaran’s Ballygawley.

St Ciaran’s were really at sea in the first half hour with Ryan Hughes stealing in for an early goal and then Seamus Loughran shooting a second Bessbrook major in the 18th minute.

Daniel Millar lifted Ballygawley with a goal a few minutes later, but St Paul’s still finished the half strongly with another goal, this time from Niall Quinn to lead by 3-6 to 1-2 at the turnover.

St Ciaran’s played much better after the break, helped no doubt by the opening score, a goal for Thomas Hoy. However they missed a number of other chances, while St Paul’s kept tagging on points.

Seamus Loughran stroked home a penalty in the 48th minute to leave four clear goals between the sides. However to their credit St Ciaran’s finished strongly with a series of Canavan points and a second goal for Thomas Hoy.

St Paul’s now have a derby game with Abbey CBS needing just a draw to advance to the knockout stages after Christmas, while St Ciaran’s will have to go the play-off route to remain in the competition.

St Paul’s : Seamus Loughran 2-0, 1-0 pen., Ryan Hughes 1-4, 0-2 frees, Niall Quinn 1-1, Ryan Connolly 0-2, Oran Kearns 0-2, Tom O’Hagan 0-1, Ciaran Cosgrove 0-1.

St Ciaran’s : Thomas Hoy 2-1, Daniel Millar 1-2, Darragh Canavan 0-6, 0-5 frees


Danske Bank MacRory Cup

St Mary’s Magherafelt 2-17 St Macartan’s Monaghan 0-4

There were no problems for MacRory Cup holders St Mary’s Magherafelt in their last game in Section C – a handy 2-17 to 0-4 win over St Macartan’s Monaghan in Armagh.

Daniel Bradley was in terrific form in front of goals racking up an impressive 0-11, 6 of which came from open play.

Adam Connolly scored the early goal that left the Convent in control at the break ahead by 1-6 to Aaron Mohan’s single point for Monaghan.

Bradley and Magherafelt kept turning the screw in the second half and a goal from Dominic McAteer guaranteed them a spot in the semi-finals of the Danske Bank MacCormick Cup.

St Mary’s : Adam Connolly 1-3, 0-1 free, Dominic McAteer 1-1, Daniel Bradley 0-11, 0-5 frees, Cormac Murphy 0-1, Euan McBride 0-1

St Macartan’s : Aaron Mohan 0-2, Oisin Gleeson 0-1, Tommy Croarkin 0-1