Colmcille semis completed

April 04, 2017

Danske Bank Corn Cholmcille quarter-finals

St Pius X Magherafelt 2-14 St Patrick’s Keady 2-4

St Ronan’s Lurgan 6-8 Patrician Carrickmacross 3-3

St Ronan’s Lurgan and St Pius X Magherafelt completed the semi-final line-up for Danske Bank Corn Cholmchille with victories yesterday afternoon.

Four goals and three points during the second half saw the Lurgan school overcome Carrickmacross by 6-8 to 3-3 after the sides had been level at 2-5 to 3-2 at the break.

The game opened with a goal each, Lurgan’s coming first from Stephen Devlin with Gerard Finnegan responding within three minutes.

St Ronan’s them took a 2-4 to 1-2 lead after Cianan Campbell goaled. But Carrickmacross finished the half strongly with goals from Ciaran Duffy and a penalty from Finnegan.
A point from Oisin Monaghan gave Carrickmacross the lead on the re-start, but it was to prove their final score as two goals from Jack Mulgrew and one each from Cianan Campbell and James Moore set up a semi-final with St Mary’s CBGS Belfast.
In the other semi-final, St Pius X were the stronger team over the hour, but goals from Oran McCooey and Thomas Gavin meant that Keady were level at 2-2 to 0-8 at the interval.

Corner-forward Conleth McGrogan was the star man for St Pius X with the first three points and he continued in that groove during the second half to bring his total to five over the hour.

However there was nothing to choose between the teams until Hayden Bloomer’s 48th minute goal. Five minutes later it was all over with Michael Forbes firing home a point and then a second goal for his team who now meet St Patrick’s Armagh in the semi-finals

St Ronan’s : Jack Mulgrew 2-1, James Moore 1-2, Cianan Campbell 1-1, Stephen Devlin 1-1, Niall Crilly 1-, Declan Mallon 0-2

Patrician : Gerard Finnegan 2-1, Ciaran Duffy 1-0, Oisin Monaghan 0-2.

St Pius X: Michael Forbes 1-3, Hayden Bloomer 1-1, Conleth McGrogan 0-5, Mark Doherty 0-3, Pearse Keenan 0-1, John Connery 0-1

St Patrick’s : Oran McCooey 1-0, Thomas Gavin 1-0, Darragh McMullan 0-3, Fionnán Ó Braonáin 0-1.