Tower win Thompson

June 15, 2019

Danske Bank Thompson Cup Final
St Killian’s Garron Tower 2-4 Cross & Passion College 1-0
St Killian’s Garron Tower won the Danske Bank Thompson Cup at Slemish Park Ballymena at the weekend beating Cross & Passion in the final of the six team blitz.
After the round-robin games St Killian’s, Cross and Passion Ballycastle, St Mary’s CBGS and Our Lady & St Patrick’s Knock qualified for the semi-finals.
The Garron Tower boys got the better of St Mary’s in their semi-final while Cross and Passion came out on top against Knock to set up a showdown with their north coast rivals.
Ballycastle were first to strike in the final with Conor Donnelly getting in behind the Tower defence in the second minute to kick the sliotar to the net. However that was to be their only score of the half and facing the wind during the second half, it never looked enough.
In the opening minute of the second half a goal attempt by St Killian’s was saved by Anthony Mullan in the CPC goals but Callagh Mooney picked up the rebound to point to open the Garron Tower scoring.
Callum McIlwaine added a point before Daire Higgins got in for a goal. CPC battled hard to get out of defence but the St Killian’s tails were up now and Cahir McNaughton pointed before Thomas McLaughlin delivered the killer blow by firing in his team’s second goal. There was no way back for CPC now and Callagh Mooney sealed victory with an injury time point.
Sr Killian’s: J McKay, O McClintock, O McCambridge, J Kearney, A Campbell, J Scullion, C Ward, C McAuley, C McIlwaine, F McKillop, D Douthart, C Mooney, T McLaughlin, D Higgins, C McNaughton.
Subs : A McCambridge, R McAuley, E Robbin, P O’Boyle, M Fury, G Burns, O McKeown, P McIlhatton, L McGhee
CPC: A Mullan, C Boylan, C Budant, T McNulty, N McClean, L Glackin, A Kelly, R McGarry, D Donnelly, K Agola, C Kane, R Fitzgerald, D O’Mullan, C Donnelly, C Lynn
Subs: C McCormick, J McNeill, D McGivern, A Hughes, C McMullan.

Picture – Thanks to John Curly McIlwaine