St Killian’s shade Brilliant Mageean semi-final

October 18, 2016

Danske Bank Mageean Cup semi-final

St Killian’s Garron Tower 2-17 Cross and Passion Ballycastle 1-15 aet

St Killian’s Garron Tower are through to their first ever Danske Bank Mageean Cup after a rousing derby semi-final with Cross and Passion Ballycastle at Ballymena.

Francis “Fred” McCurry was the Garron Tower hero with a goal deep into injury-time to bring the game to extra time during which St Killian’s put their stamp on the tie to end a semi-final hoodoo where they lost in two of the last three seasons to Cross & Passion.

It was a tough encounter from the start, but the eventual winners got off to the better start with points from James Morgan, David Kilgore and Ed McQuillan, followed by an 8th minute goal from Christy McLaughlin when he scooped the sliotar over the advancing John Francis Connolly for a 1-3 to 0-1 lead.

Cross and Passion upped the ante though and, despite facing the strong breeze, hit four points in succession – two from Ryan Hill frees – before Ed McQuillan got St Killian’s going again with a point.

A 1-5 to 0-6 interval lead looked vulnerable especially as Darren McGowan narrowed the gap with a Ballycastle point right from the second half throw-in.

However St Killian’s gradually got to grips with the wind and responded to lead 1-8 to 0-9, before a long ball from Scott Walsh seemed to go all the way to their net.

Declan Smyth from a great solo-run and sub Michael McGarry put CPC three up, but McCurry swept home a very late goal to bring it to extra time.

James Morgan with four scores, three of them frees, put St Killian’s 2-14 to 1-14 ahead at the break in extra time and substitutes Finlay Walker and Sean McKay put the game out of Ballycastle’s reach in the second period.

St Killian’s : P McMullan, C O’Loan, L Gillan, C O’Connor, S Magill, S O’Connor capt., F McCurry 1-1, D Black, E McQuillan 0-3, R McCambridge, C McAteer 0-1, L Morgan, C McLaughlin 1-0, D Kilgore 0-1, J Morgan 0-7, 0-6 frees.

Subs : F Walker 0-1 for C McLaughlin (37), T Scally for C O’Loan (50), S McKay 0-2 for L Morgan (56), L Morgan 0-1 for D Black (70), D Black for F McCurry (75), N Allen for J Morgan (78).

Cross & Passion : JF Connolly, N McCormick, C Blair, O McMullan, D McGowan 0-1, B McQuillan, S Walsh 1-1, C Boyd 0-1, C Butler, C McHenry 0-1, D Smyth 0-1, C McHugh, R Hill 0-7 frees, C McIlhatton, R Molloy.

Subs : O McAuley for O McMullan (42), M McGarry 0-3 for C McHenry (48), O Kearney for R Molloy (65), O Falloona for D McGowan (75).

Referee: B Toland (Lámh Dhearg)mageean-cup-pic1-538x299