St Colman’s take first Leopald Cup hurling title

January 31, 2018

Danske Bank Leopold Cup final
St Colman’s Newry 3-11 St Columba’s Portaferry 1-2
St Colman’s Newry picked up hurling’s Danske Bank Leopold Cup for the first time yesterday afternoon following a comfortable victory over St Columba’s Portaferry in Woodlands Belfast..
They laid the foundations for the win during the first half when Player of the Match James Dougan shot five points from frees in response to a goal from Francis Caldwell.
The problem for Portaferry side was that during the second half they had to face the strong breeze and the sleet that had started at the break.
The Shamrocks players added a further 1-2 after the break, his goal the meat in a Nathan Foy sandwich of two goals and a point.
Francis Caldwell battled away from the Ards’ side, as did Kirk Eccles and John Fisher, but their key player was Cathal Laverty who kept the score to respectable levels.
For St Colman’s defenders Oisin O’Hare, Darren Mccarthy and Tony McGee stood out especially against the elements, with Paudie Clancy and Artie O’Neill backing up the accuracy of Dougan
St Colman’s : Nathan Foy 2-1, James Dougan 1-8, 0-7 frees, Oisin McGeown 0-1, Paudie Clancy 0-1.
St Columba’s : Francis Caldwell 1-2, 0-1 free.
Referee : Brendan Toland (Lamh Dhearg)