Portaferry take first Leopold title

January 23, 2019

Danske Bank Br Leopold Cup final
St Columba’s Portaferry 3-5 St Colman’s Newry 1-5
DESPITE a superb individual performance from St Colman’s James Duggan, the Danske Bank Br Leopold Cup went across to the Ards’ peninsula after an intense game of hurling between the teams that contested the McFarland Cup final last May.
On that occasion St Colman’s won, but St Columba’s Portaferry goalkeeper Pearse Smyth emerged as his team’s hero in Queen’s yesterday, pulling off several excellent saves, including a second half penalty as well as firing over two long range frees, one in each half.
Callum O’Neill was another player to stand out for Portaferry as well as centre-half back Declan Mallon, while Finlay, Brady, Dara Rodgers and Colm Madden best supported Duggan at centre-half back who scored all his side’s total of 1-5.
Duggan was a star in defence for the first half, but he couldn’t prevent his side going in at the break with a deficit of two points, 1-1 to 0-2, with Kirk Eccles scoring the Portaferry goal.
Duggan popped over a couple of points on the re-start, but St Columba’s pushed on with a goal from Ethan Savage.
Duggan hit back with a goal from St Colman’s but Pearse Smyth denied him a second from a penalty. A goal at that stage would have put the Newry side into the lead for the first time.
Instead Callum O’Neill fired over a point and then added his side’s third goal and there was just enough breathing space for Portaferry to hold out for a first ever success in the competition.
St Columba’s : Pearce Smyth (0-2 frees), Conaire Monan, Donal Magee, Conor Mageean, Dara Smyth, Deaglan Mallon, Matthew Ennis, Kirk Eccles (1-0), David Shields, Callum O’Neill (1-3), Sean Deegan, Michael Doran, Cathal Coleman, Ethan Shields (1-0), Daniel McVeigh
Subs : Pearce Sweeney for M Ennis, Conor Clarke for M Doran
St Colman’s : Darragh White, Conor King, James King, Matthew Duffy, Finlay Brady, James Duggan (1-5, 0-4 frees), Fergal Kieran, Dara Rodgers, Diarmaid Mc Cusker, Myles Boyd, Conor Madden, Niall Elshaw, Mícheál Rice, Oisin Logan, Sean O’Neill