Maghera and St Mary’s reach MacNamee semis

October 14, 2019

Danske Bank MacNamee Cup quarter-finals
St Patrick’s Maghera 5-5 OLSP Knock 4-6
St Mary’s CBGS Belfast 2-6 St Louis Ballymena 2-4
A LATE goal from Turlough McHugh snatched victory for St Patrick’s Maghera in the earlier of yesterday’s two Danske Bank MacNamee Cup quarter-finals.
The game seemed to slipping away from Maghera when a free from Ben Taggart gave Knock a 4-6 to 4-5 lead in a match that was closely contested from pillar to post. But McHugh took his chance well to set up a semi-final with Cross and Passion Ballycastle later this week.
Cormac óg McCloskey was excellent for Maghera in midfield with good support from Fiachra Turner in defence and Tiarnan Melaugh and Danny Gallagher up front while Ben Taggart, Seán McCollum, Liam Blaney, Rónán Kelly and Marc Guest stood out for Knock.
Maghera held a single point lead at the break, 3-1 to 3-0, with Liam Blaney, Dara Quinn and Frank Kane goal-scorers for Knock and Danny Gallagher (2) and Felix Glover on the mark for Maghera.
There was only a goal each during the second half as both teams opted for points, until McHugh’s late strike took Maghera clear.
Two first half goals from Niall May were enough for St Mary’s CBGS to claim their semi-final spot against St Killian’s Garron Tower.
Those two strikes gave the Glen Road school a 2-3 to 0-3 interval lead and they managed to hold off St Louis’ fightback in which Caolán McFerran and Rory Smith goaled to leave just a point between the teams.
Darragh Brown was excellent in goals for the winners and at the other end May tagged on two points to relieve the pressure with Eddie Smith pulling one back. However time ran out on Ballymena for whom Smith and Paudie Martin were prominent.
St Patrick’s : Danny Gallagher 3-0, Turlough McHugh 1-0, Felix Glover 1-0, Cormac óg McCloskey 0-3, Cillian McEldowney 0-1, Tiarnan Melaugh 0-1
OLSP Knock : Ben Teggart 1-3, Liam Blaney 1-2, Dara Quinn 1-0, Frank Kane 1-0, Cillian Ennis 0-1.
St Mary’s : Niall May 2-3, Lorcan McCallin 0-2, Shea Burns 0-1
St Louis : Caolan McFerrran 1-0, Rory Smith 1-0, Eddie Smyth 0-2, Jack McKeever 0-1, Sean óg Blaney 0-1.