Knock take hurling’s McGreevy Shield

November 24, 2017

Danske Bank McGreevy Shield final
Our Lady’s & St Patrick’s Knock 4-6 St Patrick’s Armagh 0-4
Two goals in the ten minutes before half time sent an impressive Our Lady’s & St Patrick’s Knock to the Danske Bank McGreevy Shield title on Coláiste Feirste’s excellent new playing facilities last night.
During the opening quarter the two teams looked well matched with Charlie Haughian (2) and Oisin Cahill pointing for Armagh and Patrick Brady (2) and Emmett Rodgers responding for Knock.
However two goals from Rodgers just before half-time put Knock in control of the game.
Jamie O’Hara hit back with a point for Armagh on the re-start but Knock killed off the Armagh challenge with goals from Eoin Dorrian and Oran McMeel to keep the title in Down following St Patrick’s Downpatrick’s victory last year.
There were strong performances from Shea Pucci and Emmett Rodgers for Knock and Jaime Gildernew and Ronan O’Hagan for Armagh.
OLSP’s Knock : Emmett Rodgers 2-1, Eoin Dorrian 1-1, Oran McMeel 1-1, Patrick Brady 0-2, Ben Savage 0-1.
St Patrick’s Armagh : Charlie Haughian 0-2, Oisin Cahill 0-1, Jamie Hara 0-1.