Keady retain the Casement in terrific Dub final

November 17, 2017

Danske Bank Casement Cup final

St Patrick’s Keady 4-6 St Mary’s Magherafelt 2-9

St Patrick’s Keady retained their Danske Bank Casement Cup title in the Queen’s Arena last evening – but they were pushed to the pin of their collar by a determined St Mary’s Magherafelt side who were in contention until Keady killed them with an injury time goal from sub Shea McNaughton.

Despite falling behind to a Paul Green goal in the third minute, St Mary’s hit back with two frees from James Crawford and went on to lead 1-6 to 1-2 at the break with James Crawford putting in a good shift in midfield and Ciaran Doyle everywhere in defence, well supported by Daire Kelly.

Adam Connolly stabbed home the goal for St Mary’s in the 27th minute, but Keady re-grouped well at the break and drew level at 2-3 to 1-6 in the 35th minute with a point from Fionntan Donnelly and then a goal from Conor McGrory.

Although Donnelly edged Keady ahead with a free, Morgan Nelson put St Mary’s back in front with a 40th minute goal and Crawford added a point.

The game swung back in Keady’s favour in the 47th minute with Conor Renaghan picking up the sliotar 30 metres from goal and more or less walking it into the net.

Ruairi Keenan levelled at 2-8 to 3-5 only for Paul Green, the star man in last season’s final to add a fine individual point.

With the play now frantically swinging from end to end, sub Shea McNaughton fired in a late goal to put Keady give a little comfort although they needed goalie Oliver Fegan to bring off a point blank save before they could really relax.

St Patrick’s : O Fegan, O Doyle, D Murphy, M Lennon, S McKearney, O Keenan, D Harnett 0-1, T O’Neill, J Shortt, P Mallon, P Green 1-3, C Renaghan 1-0, S óg McGuinness, C McGrory 1-0, F Donnelly 0-2, 0-1 free.

Subs : N Hunt for S óg McGuiness, Shea McNaughton 1-0 for P Mallon.

St Mary’s: J Donnelly, R Fullerton, J Sweeny, C Doyle, C O’Neill, D Kelly, O Lynch, R Keenan, J McCann, A Connolly 1-0, J Crawford 0-6, 0-4 frees, T Donaghy, M Nelson 1-1, E Donnelly 0-1, R Kalla.

Subs : S Lagan for M Nelson, R O’Hagan for M Nelson.

Referee : Aidan Kelly (Antrim)