Birr too strong for CPC

March 08, 2020

Masita Paddy Buggy Cup semi-final (Senior B hurling)
Cashel CS 4-22 Calasanctus Oranmore 1-11
St Brendan’s CS Birr 0-14 Cross and Passion Ballycastle 0-7

THE first half performance of St Brendan’s Community School Birr in Saturday’s Masita Paddy Buggy Cup semi-final at Inniskeen gave them a big enough cushion to see off the chal-lenge of Cross and Passion Ballycastle.
Birr led by 0-8 to 0-1 at half time, admittedly with the aid of a strong wind, but they were able to hold that seven points’ gap throughout the second half to book a final place against Cashel CS who were very comfortable winners in the other semi-final.
Niall Lyons opened the scoring with a free from close on half-way. Gearoid McCormack and Lyons (from a 65) then put them three up after eight minutes.
Cross and Passion were actually doing well during this period but didn’t get their only score of the half until 23 minutes (a free from Michael O’Boyle). However Birr pushed on before the break with substitute Lochain Quinn adding two points.
O’Boyle scored two of the opening three points of the second half but St Brendan’s nailed the win with four unanswered points, two each Quinn and Lyons, to go ten points clear by the 40th minute.
While Birr only scored once more, their defence dug in and didn’t allow CPC any time on the ball.
Ballycastle did manage a brief scoring flurry with points each from Christy McGarry, Michael O’Boyle and sub Jack McGowan. But super-sub Quinn replied with his fifth point from play with ten to go.
The Mageean Cup champions needed a goal. Both O’Boyle and Enda óg McGarry came close towards the end with efforts that flashed just wide – but by then the finish line was in sight for Birr and they held on for a comfortable win.
Cross and Passion : T Smyth, R McClean, E óg McGarry, R Laverty, C McGlynn, C McKin-ley, D Devlin, S McAuley, J McAlister, R McMullan, C McGarry (0-1), M O’Boyle (0-5 frees), C O’Mullan, F McKiernan, J McToal.
Subs : J McGowan (0-1), S McDonnell, O Elliott
St Brendan’s : A Fitzgerald, L Millar, C Hardiman, K Tierney, C Burke (0-1 sideline), P Wat-kins, J Ryan (0-1), C King, J Hoctor, J Couglan, L Nolan, G McCormack (0-3), S Ryan, C Teehan, N Lyons (0-4 frees)
Sub: Lochainn Quinn (0-5)