St Pius X seal MacLarnon semi place

February 24, 2020

Danske Bank MacLarnon Cup quarter-final
St Pius X Magherafelt 1-13 St Columb’s College 0-8
St Pius’ storming second half showing saw them breeze past St Columb’s College in Owenbeg last night and into a semi-final meeting with Loreto, Milford.
Magherafelt raced into and early four points to no score lead Iarlaith Donaghy, Conor McAteer, Mattie Rocks and Michael Forbes on target.
The College hit back to level proceedings with Caolan Hargan and the Claudy duo of Liam Connolly and Jack Boyce restoring parity.
Conor McAteer and Keelan O’Kane then traded scores as the sides were level 0-5 apiece at the break.
The Derry City side played with the benefit of the breeze for the second half as Caolan Hargan and Conor McAteer fired over scores with the sides attached at the hip throughout the majority of the third quarter.
It looked almost certain that a goal would go a long way towards deciding this one and it was the South Derry men who got it. Ballinderry’s Shea Coleman raced through before firing a long-range effort into the bottom right corner of the net.
One minute later a further hammer blow staggered St Columb’s with influential midfielder, Shane McElhinney sin-binned on the account of a foul on Donaghy.
In the time he was off St Pius X tagged on five in a row with Darragh Wade, Michael Forbes and McAteer all on target.
Liam Connolly attempted to steady the ship for his team with a free but two more from Wade and one from Mark Doherty hammered home the advantage and an eight point win.
The semi-finals of the MacLarnon cup are due for Tuesday March 3rd with St Paul’s Bressbrook taking on OLASP Knock and Loreto CS, Milford facing St Pius X, Magherafelt.
St Columb’s Derry: A Harrigan, R McCloskey, N Ó Mianáin (0-1), P Nelis, M McGilligan, M Lynch, K O’Kane (0-1), S McElhinney, J Og Moore, Tiarnan O’Connor, K Doherty, J Boyce (0-1), C Hargan (0-2 2f), S Browne, L Connolly (0-3 3f).
St Pius X, Magherafelt: C Lagan, S Og Quinn, C Devlin, M McGeehan, D Martin, I Donaghy (0-1), M Rocks (0-1), S Coleman (1-0), M Forbes (0-2 1f), D Quinn, J McElkennon, M Doherty (0-1), C McAteer (0-5 3f), D Wade (0-3), G Fullen.
Sub: S McGrogan for S Og Quinn (45).
Referee: K Eannetta (Tir Eoghain)