St Patrick’s Banbridge on the double

June 22, 2017

Danske Bank Danny Flynn Cup final

St Patrick’s Banbridge 5-10 St Colman’s Ballynahinch 6-5

Danske Bank Mulholland Cup final

St Patrick’s Banbridge 5-11 St Colman’s Ballynahinch 2-11

There was double celebration yesterday for St Patrick’s Banbridge as the school collected their first two Danske Bank Ulster Schools’ football titles after two high-scoring games with St Colman’s Ballynahinch in Ahagallon.

In the opening game for the Danny Flynn Cup, Banbridge set themselves up well after the first half, going in at the break with a comfortable 4-5 to 2-4 lead, the goals coming from Daniel McGivern (2), Colm Cull and Tony McCartan.

However, despite McGivern completing his hat-trick, St Colman’s Ballynahinch roared back into contention with goals from Michael McNeill, Ryan Walsh and Jamie Morgan and the teams were level at 5-8 to 6-5 with just three minutes left on the clock.

However Banbridge dug deepest and Ryan Morgan and Niall Wallace popped over the winning points.

Morgan and Wallace were just two of the Banbridge stars of the game, along with Daniel McGivern and Tony Wallace, while St Colman’s will regret not taking a couple of chances before the break that might have made the second half a little easier.

The Ballynahinch school looked in better shape however at half-time in the second game, for the Mulholland Cup, leading by 2-8 to 1-4 following super goals for James Tumilty and Jamie Hilland.

However Banbridge introduced Tony McCartan, who had played in the opening game and he goaled with his first touch.

Another goal from the superb Sean Casserly decisively turned the game in St Patrick’s favour and they pushed on with further green flags from Jake Gorman and Odhrán Heenan to eventually win comfortably on a 5-11 to 2-11 scoreline


Danske Bank Flynn Cup scorers

St Patrick’s : Daniel McGivern 3-2, Colm Cull 1-2, Tony McCartan 1-0, Niall Wallace 0-3, Ryan Morgan 0-2, Ryan Meara 0-1.

St Colman’s : Jamie Morgan 2-2, Michael McNeill 2-1, Ryan Walsh 2-0, Oran Carew 0-1, Joe Black 0-1


Danske Bank Mulholland Cup scorers:

St Patrick’s :Jake Gorman 2-5, Odhrán Heenan 1-2, Tony McCartan 1-1, Sean Casserly 1-0, Peter McClean 0-1, James McKay 0-1, Mick McGrath 0-1

St Colman’s : James Tumilty 1-2, Jamie Hilland 1-1, Keegan Domican 0-2, Gerard Lawlor 0-2, Oran McKay 0-1, John Kelly 0-1, Anton Blaney 0-1 Malachy O’Hare 0-1


Teams – Danny Flynn Cup final

St Colman’s Ballynahinch v St Patrick’s Banbridge

St Colman’s : Caolan McAvoy, Dylan McCartan, Shea Rogan, Sean Robb, Matt Boyle, Ryan O’Hare, Josh Vance, Michael McNeill, Oran Carew, Joe Black, Ryan Murphy, Christopher Magee, Jack McMullan, Jamie Morgan, Shea Valentine.

Subs : Caolán Rice, Ryan Rogan, Malachy Ward, Matthew Grimley, Lukas Brudnius, Thomas McKeown, Christopher McAleenan, Ryan Walsh

St Patrick’s : Christopher Higgins, Kieron McNeill, Diarmuid McCusker, Anthony McAtamney, Harry Agnew, Denis Kerr, Ryan Morgan capt., Tony McCartan, Kyle Bradford, Ryan Meara, Aidan McGivern, Niall Wallace, Liam óg Magennis, Daniel McGivern, Colm Cull.

SUBS: Sean MCclure, Conrad Wallace, Dara McGrath, Shea Fitzpatrick, Jake Smyth, Conor Doherty, Andrew McGovern.


Mulholland Cup final

St Colman’s : Daniel Smyth, Anton Blaney, Eoin Reid, Rory Donnelly, Dylan Blaney, Michael Beatty, Oran McKay, James Tumilty, Jack Hanna, Keegan Domican, Gerard Lawlor, Jamie Hilland, Luke Simpson, Malachy O’Hare, John Kelly

Subs : E Teggart, F Maguire, L Maguire, P McMahon, C Raffo

St Patrick’s : Oskar Chrapkowski, Anthony Convery, Tiernan McArdle, Conor McArdle, Ronan McCrory, Ruairi Andrews, Nathan McAtamney, Danny McCartan, James Fegan capt., Peter McClean, Odhrán Heenan, Sean Casserley, Liam Campbell, Jake Gorman, James McKay.

SUBS: Bryan McAvoy, Ben Canavan, Ryan Byrne, Tony McCartan