St Michael’s win in MacRory

November 26, 2019

Danske Bank MacRory Cup
St Michael’s Enniskillen 2-14 Abbey CBS 1-8
THERE was a bit of a scare for St Michael’s Enniskillen ten minutes into the second half of this Danske Bank MacRory Cup tie in Galbally yesterday afternoon when Abbey CBS drew level with them at 1-7 each after being 1-5 to 0-1 down 20 minutes into the opening half.
However the Cup holders shook off their lethargy by picking off the next six scores without reply and then iced the cake with a late length of the field free-flowing move that released Oisin Murphy to rattle the net.
That mirrored Enniskillen’s start to the game when a goal from Oliver Hugh Jordan after ten minutes and a series of points including three from Mícheál Glynn put the Fermanagh school into a commanding seven points’ lead on the 20 minute mark with only a Niall Toner point from the Newry team.
However Abbey managed to haul themselves back into the game before the break with four points, two from Toner and one each from Dara O’Callaghan and Ryan Magill.
Then over the opening ten minutes of the second half they drew level helped by points from O’Callaghan and Rory Foster and Eoin Reel’s goal when he got his hand to a high ball into the area.
But Enniskillen responded positively with six points from six different players, the pick of them from Zack’s Kyle, and they were back in control before finishing in style with the goal from Murphy.
Patrician High Carrickmacross and St Colman’s Newry didn’t get their game played on Saturday because of the state of the pitch, but they will try again this (TUESDAY) afternoon at 2.30pm in Cloghan with St Colman’s then having the Newry derby on Saturday morning (11am) in Páirc Esler. No details have yet been confirmed for St Michael’s final group game with Patrician.
St Michael’s : Oliver Hugh Jordan (1-1), Oisin Muprhy (1-0), Mícheál Glynn (0-4, 0-2 frees), Tom Keenan (0-2), Laurence McKeown (0-2), Conor Burns (0-2), James O’Donnell (0-2, 0-1 free), Zack Kyle (0-1).
Abbey : Eoin Reel (1-0), Niall Toner (0-4), Dara O’Callaghan (0-2), Ryan Magill (0-1), Rory Foster (0-1)

St Macartan’s Monaghan 10-14 Inis Eoghain 1-4
St Macartan’s piled a bit more misery on Inis Eoghain in the Group A game played in the Mid Ulster Arena in Cookstown yesterday.
The Sem led by 6-6 to 1-2 at the break and finished with a total of 10-14 against 1-2. Consequently they move top of Group A, but that could change later in the week after the final group game between St Patrick’s Academy and Cathair Dhoire should the Academy win by more than six points.
St Macartan’s: Lochlainn Power (4-1), Eoghan McGinnity (3-4), Cameron Liddle (2-0), Michael Meehan (1-0), Killian McKenna (0-3), Karl Gallagher (0-2), Kevin Fitzpatrick (0-2), Chrissy Flood (0-2)
Inis Eoghain : Kevin Jordan (1-0), Christopher McDaid (0-2), Luke Doherty (0-1), Conor O’Neill (0-1)