St Joseph’s cruise to Nolan Cup title

March 21, 2017

Danske Bank Nolan Cup Final

St Joseph’s Derry 3-12 St Patrick’s Bearnageeha 0-9

St Joseph’s Derry bagged the Danske Bank Nolan Cup with a powerful display in the final at the Meadowbank Arena in Magherafelt yesterday.

Following a poignant minute’s silence for past pupil Ryan McBride, who had played gaelic for the school, the Derry lads got off to a brilliant start with Kristian Deery hitting the net in the second minute.

Although St Patrick’s Bearnageeha responded with three points in a row, two for Michael McCarthy and the other for Gerard Maguire, a poor kick-out from the Belfast side in the 15th minute fell handy for Conor Kelly who fired to the net.

One of the contenders for Player of the Match, Odhran McKane, landed four first half points as the Creggan school pulled clear to lead by 2-5 to 0-4 at the break.

During the third quarter they consolidated their position with a further six unanswered points, including two each for Ben Smyth and Oisin Burke.

Indeed they had moved 2-12 to 0-4 ahead before a mini-revival from St Patrick’s delivered three quick points for Michael McAuley, Gerard Maguire and Ruairi Prentor.

However St Joseph’s hit back with a flowing move on the break that finished with captain Harry Curran slotting the ball under Jamie Maguire for his side’s third goal.

In hindsight Kelly’s goal was the turning point as until then Michael McAuley and Michael McCarthy had looked capable of keeping St Patrick’s in the game. After the goal, McKane, Smyth, Curran and Burke all grew in stature and long before the final whistle the Nolan Cup was on its way to the maiden city.

St Joseph’s : D Beattie, E Butler, D McCafferty, C McSwine, C Canney, O Burke 0-2, J Morrow 0-1, O McKane 0-5, B Smyth 0-3, D Nash, H Curran capt. 1-0, R McGahey, T Gallagher, K Deery, C Kelly 1-1.

Subs : K Brown for D Nash, L Doherty for C Deery, C McCrystal for E Butler,

St Patrick’s : J Maguire, S McBurney, J Jacobsen, K Smyth, C Hamilton, M McAuley 0-3, G Patterson, M McCarthy 0-3, L Brown, J Parke, G Maguire 0-2, C McKeown, B McConnell, R Prenter 0-1, P McDermott.

Subs : D Calvert for C McKeown, P Hickey for J Parke.

A minute’s silence well observer for St Joseph’s past pupil Ryan McBride who represented both the school and Sean Dolan’s GAC before concentrating on soccer