St Colman’s win in extra time in MacCormack

January 18, 2020

Danske Bank MacCormack Cup semi-final
Friday 17th, 2pm in the Dub :
St Colman’s Newry 4-16 St Patrick’s Academy Dungannon 4-13

St Colmans Newry qualified for the final of the Danske Bank MacCormack.Cup when they shaded an extra time thriller with St Patrick’s Academy Dungannon at the Dub yesterday afternoon.
It took two ten minutes periods of extra time to decide the outcome after the game finished Dungannon 3-10, St Colman’s 2-13.
Colmans played into the breeze in the first half and were the dominant side in terms of possession and chances created. Dungannon looked sluggish at times and struggled with the pace and movement of their opponents early on.
Peter McGrane, Tony Magee and Darragh Hynes were outstanding for the winners as they drove their team forward continuously.
A Cormac McElroy goal ten minutes into the first half put the Newry school in a strong position but a goal from the hand of Luke Donnelly got the Academy back in the game and they reached the break trailing by just two points on a score line of 1-8 to 1-6.
Adam Cummins, Andrew Gilmore and Conor Murphy were among the points for Colman’s while Eoghan Donnelly and Sean Cowan were on target for the Dungannon school.
The second half began with a bang with Colman’s hitting the net after twenty five seconds only for Dungannon to reply immediately with a goal of their own from Scott McCann. The sides continued to swap scores but with time running out Colman’s led by five and seemed set for the final.
However St Pat’s corner forward Donnelly bagged his second goal of the game to leave two between the teams and the Tyrone school finished the half strongly adding two late points courtesy of Oisin McHugh and Luke Donnelly to take the game to extra time.
St Colman’s were on top throughout the first period of extra time hitting 1-2 and keeping Dungannon scoreless. Their third goal from Padraig Clancy put Colman’s five clear at the break.
Both sides swapped goals just before the finish but in spite of the valiant efforts of the Academy the Newry lads held out for a deserved win and a place in the MacCormack final.
Newry: A Gilmore 0-7, C Murphy 1-4, J Murtagh 1-3, A Cummins 1-2, C McElroy 1-0
Dungannon ; L Donnelly 2-6, S Cowan 1-3, Scott McCann 1-1, E Donnelly 0-1, Shane Donnelly.0-1, Oisin McHugh 0-1
Referee; B Cassidy, Derry