Ronan’s make it past St Eunan’s to take Corn Loch an Iúir

December 05, 2018

Danske Bank Corn Loch an Iúir final
St Ronan’s Lurgan 2-10 St Eunan’s Letterkenny 2-3
WHILE St Eunan’s Letterkenny fought bravely and were level at the break in this Danske Bank Corn Loch an Iúir final, St Ronan’s always looked as if they had the capacity to open the game up and pull away.
The Lurgan win was achieved with a series of points during the third quarter, but wasn’t clinched until two minutes from time when Adam Towe played a neat 1-2 with Rogan McVeigh and then swept the ball to the net from close range.
The tenacity of the Donegal boys never let St Ronan’s clear however and John Quinn in goals and outfield players like Lorcán Harvey, Jamie McCauley, Sean Gallagher and particularly Max Roarty up front can still feel a sense of achievement.
But Lurgan were strong in defence with Charlie Casey and Eoin Lennon. Pádraig Gowdy was my Player of the Match at midfield and Callum Wilson and Shea Lavery always a threat up front.
Gowdy tapped over an early free, but Max Roarty responded with a point and then a goal when he took on three defenders on the right wing before crashing the ball to the net. That score knocked Lurgan back a little, but they hit three points before the 20th minute to leave them just a point behind at 1-2 to 0-4.
Then we had two goals before the break. Rogan McVeigh did the spade-work along the end line and pulled the ball back for a handy finish for Shea Lavery. However at the other end Max Roarty was taken down after 28 minutes and Josh Patton expertly converted the spot-kick to leave it evens for the turnover, 1-5 to 2-2.
However Lurgan tightened their grip on proceedings for the third quarter with Callum Wilson, Ethan McKenna and Gowdy from two frees moving the score-board out of St Eunan’s reach.
Letterkenny only hit the target once during the second half, a free from Christopher Diver and can have no complaint about the result.
St Ronan’s : C Toland, O Sweeney, C Casey, E Lennon, J Lavery, A Cassidy, T Mallon, E McKenna 0-2, P Gowdy 0-4 frees, A Towe 1-0, C Wilson 0-2, P O’Hare, JP McAlinden, R McVeigh 0-2, S Lavery 1-0
Subs : M McGibbon for P O’Hare (53)
St Eunan’s : J Quinn, G Gallagher, M Doherty, J Patton 1-0 pen, O Canning, J McAuley, D Gallagher capt., S Gallagher, B O’Hagan, P Hughes, M Bonner, C Diver 0-2 frees, M Kelly, L Harvey, M Roarty 1-1.
Subs : O Brains for P Hughes (45), R Kelly for M Kelly (52), S Ellison for B O’Hagan (53), J Lambe for J Patton (55), O McGrenra for M Roarty.
Referee : S MacNamee (Tyrone)