Omagh defeat St Ronan’s in MacRory

October 25, 2018

Danske Bank MacRory Cup
Omagh CBS 3-9 St Ronan’s Lurgan 1-10
SLOW out of the blocks best describes how St Ronan’s began their Danske Bank MacRory Cup campaign for the first time as champions in Killeeshil yesterday afternoon.
Only four points in the first half and they depended on placed balls for five of the first six points. But once they got going they reeled in Omagh’s 3-4 to 0-4 interval lead and had Odhran Grimes not saved brilliantly from James McCormick’s well struck penalty and McCormick not blasted low instead of over with their last point, they might well have taken the group points.
A goal instead of that on 55 minutes would have made it a single point deficit, but Aidan McConnell, one of Omagh’s top players on the day, tapped over two late points to secure victory.
Sean McDonagh was the other forward to shine for the Tyrone side. He palmed home the first goal in the 9th minute and then chipped the goalie for a second in the 17th minute. When Mark Hayes was played in one on one with the Lurgan goalie just before the break, Omagh seemed to be coasting.
Both teams dug in during the third quarter and traded points up to 3-7 to 0-7 with the penalty miss along the way. Then a point from James McCormick sparked a run of 1-3 for Lurgan, the goal coming from Marc McAfee who beat Grimes to the ball and palmed home.
However McCormick’s 55th minute point could well have gone under the bar but didn’t and Omagh were able to breathe a sigh of relief and get themselves out of trouble.
Cathal Colton, Ruairi Donnelly and Liam Gray for Omagh are worthy of a mention for their contribution to a good game of football. So too, Tiarnan Kelly and McCormick for Lurgan.
Omagh CBS : Sean McDonagh (2-1), Mark Hayes (1-1), Aidan McConnell (0-3), Liam Gray (0-3), Eoin Montgomery (0-1).
St Ronan’s : Marc McAfee (1-0), James McCormick (0-3, 0-1 free), Adam Loughran (0-3 frees), Rioghan Crawford (0-1), Jack Conlon (0-1), Cian France (0-1), Tiarnan Kelly (0-1).