Moville Wins Donegal O’Doherty derby

January 16, 2019

Danske Bank O’Doherty Cup quarter-final :
Moville CC 3-14 Magh Ene College Bundoran 5-6
MOVILLE Community College conceded five first half goals but still bounced back to win the Donegal derby in Convoy yesterday in the first of the Danske Bank O’Doherty Cup quarter-finals.
Over the hour they probably did play the better football but they were quite open at the back for those goals in the first 22 minutes, which came from Matthew Duffy and two each from Adam McGloin and Rhys Brennan.
Despite that Moville were just a point in arrears at the break with two goals from Josh Conlon in the final six minutes of the half leaving them well-placed at 2-9 to 5-1. Conlon was one of the Moville stars on the day along with Kevin Doherty up front and Rhys Hoy at the centre of the defence.
Rhys Brennan, Adam McGloin, Conal McGowan, Peter Connolly, Matthew Duffy and Oisin Walsh all did well for the Bundoran side, but once they were closed out for goals, they struggled for points relying on Walsh from placed balls.
The second half was quite intense from start to finish with the Moville goal after 36 minutes from Rory Hirrell putting his side ahead and it was a lead they held until the end, despite a late rally from Bundoran.
There are two more quarter-finals down for decision today (THURSDAY) with St Aidan’s Cootehill playing the new St Conor’s from the south east Derry region in Brockagh while Dean Maguirc take on Ballybay CC in Garvaghey.
Moville : P Doherty, S Grant, M Braksis, J Harley, N Gallagher (0-1), R Hoy, E McLaughlin, E O’Doherty (0-3), A Ferns, R Hirrell (1-2), K Doherty, D McCallion (0-2), R Roberts, J Conlon (2-2, 0-2 frees), A Clarke (0-3).
Subs : M Leech for J Harley, D McKinney (0-1) for S Grant, D Gillen for R Roberts
Magh Ene : J Delaney, N Sheerin, A Gallagher, P McGloin, E McGuinness, P Connolly (0-1), C McGowan, M Duffy (1-0), K O’Driscoll, M McGeever, O Walsh (0-4), C McLaughlin, A McGloin (2-1), R Brennan (2-0), D Foley
Subs : A Keaney for M McGeever, J Fallon for C McLaughlin