More Silverware for Maghera

April 09, 2017


St Patrick’s Maghera 4-12 St Patrick’s Cavan 3-8

from Irish News Sport

A clinical second half display by St Patrick’s Maghera saw them power their way to the D’Alton Cup title in glorious sunshine yesterday in the Athletic Grounds.

Trailing by a two points at half time, Jodie McDermott and Michael Mulholland turned up the heat in the Maghera engine room after the break.  Raymond Dillon and Luke Diamond attacked at will to give Maghera the drive to go for glory.

It was the Cavan men struck first with an early Liam McEntee point and a fifth minute goal from the impressive Donal McSorley.

Dillon scored the first Maghera point and played Gary Scott in for goal and the sides were level after 12 minutes.

Two Michael Mulholland frees put Maghera two points ahead and Cavan centre back Ronan Trainor ran through for a fantastic individual point.

When Philip Smith capitalised on a defensive slip he drilled home a second Cavan goal, but they didn’t make their period of dominance count.

Both sides spurned goal chances.  The strong-running Richard Ayodele missed a glorious chance for Cavan and McSorley was back to clear an almost certain Maghera goal off the line.

Early in the second-half Maghera took control with McDermott and Mulholland ruling the skies.  The duo also rolled up their sleeves and worked back to track the Cavan runners.

Fergal Coyle crashed home a fine goal on the 33rd minute at the end of a fine Maghera to put his ahead.    McDermott tagged on two frees as the game began to swing away from the Breffni men.

Daithí Shiels replied for Cavan but as the game went on it was Maghera who grew stronger.  Midway through the half Jodie McDermott slammed to the bottom corner for a third Maghera goal.

Cavan, with McSorley heavily involved, came back with a fight.  Ayodele fired an unstoppable shot to the top corner of the net, reducing the gap to just two points with eight minutes to go.

Maghera lifted another gear with a goal from Shea McKenna and a point from substitute Cathal Chambers to ensure the cup was going to Derry,


Maghera: C Craig, R Dillon (0-1), A McGonigle, A McLaughlin; P McGurk, C Downey, P McCullagh; J McDermott (1-3, 3f), M Mulholland (0-5, 4f); S McKenna (1-1), S McLaughlin (0-1), L Diamond; F Coyle (1-0), G Scott (1-0), C Mullan.
Subs: C Chambers (0-1) for G Scott (53), D McGill for P McCullagh (62).

Sub: C Donohoe, J McBreen, A Butt, O O’Reilly; B Monaghan, R Trainor (0-1), C Smith; P Smyth (1-0), R Ayodele (1-0); C Clarke, E Sheha, D Shiels (0-2); L McEntee (0-1), B Tierney, D McSorley (1-3, 3f).
Subs: M McDermott for C Clarke (29), P Kilkenny for E Sheha (53).

REF: K Faloon (Armagh)