McIntyre & Power key to semi wins

December 14, 2019

Danske Bank Gerry Brown Cup semi-finals :
Bailieborough CS 2-19 Coláiste Oiriall 5-3
Coláiste Dún an Rí, Kingscourt 5-8 Dean Maguirc Carrickmore 3-10
A LATE goal from the excellent Patrick Power took Coláiste Dún an Rí over the line in a well-contested Danske Bank Gerry Brown Cup semifinal in Sherry’s Field Armagh yesterday.
Dean Maguirc College had taken the lead with a goal from sub Cormac McCrystal at the start of the second half and, despite Caoimhin Magee completing his hat trick and a Power goal after 46 minutes, they were just a point in arrears following some super points from Pearse Byrne and a goal from Aidan Woods.
But the Tyrone side couldn’t complete the comeback and Power’s second goal killed them off.
Carrickmore had led the game helped by a Davog Loughran goal from the penalty spot, but surrendered the lead just before half time when Caoimhin Magee scored his first two goals.
Magee, Power, Michael Carroll and Noel McCormack did well for the Cavan side while Woods, Byrne and Cahir Logue played well for Carrickmore.
Coláiste Oiriall might have been able to break through for goals in the first of yesterday’s Danske Bank Gerry Brown Cup semi-finals, but Bailieborough Community school played the better football and reached the final with seven points to spare.
Aidan Christie played very well for them carrying the ball out of defence, while Conor McIntyre notched nine points, five from frees, scores that kept his team ahead from early in the game despite two Shay Ó Ceallaigh goals for the Monaghan Gaelscoil.
Joe Farrelly hit a goal for Bailieborough just before half time and they led by 1-9 to 2-2 at the change of ends.
Aodán Ó Dughaill, Ethan Mac Gafraidh, Mark Ó Murchú and sweeper Conor Ó Míochán all worked hard to push Coláiste Oiriall into a winning position but, despite goals from Maitiú Ó Cearbhallúin, Neal Ó Coigligh and Michael Mac an Fhailí, they couldn’t get into the lead and it was the Cavan school that progressed to next week’s final with Andrew Hill’s solo goal the score of the game.

Bailieborough : Joe Farrelly (1-4), Andrew Hill (1-3), Conor McIntyre (0-9), Aidan Christy (0-3).
Coláiste Oiriall : Shay Ó Ceallaigh (2-1), Maitiú Ó Cearbhallúin (1-0), Neal Ó Coigligh (1-0), Michael Mac an Fhailí (1-0), Bobby Mac Cathmhaoil (0-1), Oisín Mac Treinfhir (0-1).
Kingscourt : Caoimhin Magee (3-1), Patrick Power (2-2), Michael Carroll (0-2), John McKeown (0-1), Kyle Martin (0-1), Michael McKeown (0-1).
Carrickmore : Davog Loughran (1-0), Cormac McCrystal (1-0), Aidan Woods (1-0), Pearse Byrne (0-8), Shea Munroe (0-1), Padraig McDonnell (0-1).