MacRory / McCormack Cup permutations

November 21, 2017

Danske Bank MacRory Cup
The three games yesterday in the Danske Bank MacRory Cup resolved a number of issues, including the line-up for the McCormack Cup semi-finals next Wednesday.
These have turned out to be a Derry derby (St Patrick’s Maghera against MacRory champions St Mary’s Magherafelt) and an Armagh derby (St Paul’s Bessbrook against MacCormack Cup holders St Ronan’s Lurgan).
These four teams qualify automatically for the quarter-finals of the MacRory, while also guaranteed MacRory action in the New Year are Omagh CBS, Patrician High Carrickmacross and St Colman’s Newry. The result of Thursday game between St Ciaran’s Ballygawley and St Michael’s Enniskillen will determine the fourth team through.
Two of the four pairings for the MacRory play-offs next week are also sorted with St Patrick’s Cavan facing St Mary’s CBGS Belfast and St Macartan’s taking on the Academy.
That game on Thursday will also sort out opponents for St Patrick’s Armagh and St Malachy’s Castlewellan

Danske Bank McCormack Cup Semi Finals on Wednesday 29 November
(A1) St Patrick’s Maghera v (C1) St Mary’s Magherafelt
(B1) St Ronan’s Lurgan v (D1) St Paul’s Bessbrook

Teams in the quarter-final draw : 4 MacCormack Cup quarter-finalists plus
Omagh CBS, Patrician High Carrickmacross, St Colman’s Newry and D2 team

MacRory Cup Play Offs on /before Saturday 02 December
1 (A3) St Patrick’s Cavan v (C4) St Mary’s CBGS Belfast
2 (B3) St Patrick’s Armagh v (D4) _________________
3 (C3) St Macartan’s Monaghan v (A4) St Patrick’s Academy Dungannon
4 (D3) _________________ v (B4) St Malachy’s Castlewellan

Picture from today’s Páirc Esler clash of Abbey CBS and St Paul’s Bessbrook
Thanks to Maurice McKey