Loreto goals win Rannafast Shield

December 02, 2017

Danske Bank Rannafast Shield final Loreto Coleraine 5-8 St Paul’s Bessbrook 1-12
Four first half goals were key to Loreto Coleraine collecting the Danske Bank Rannafast Shield at the expense of a tenacious St Paul’s Bessbrook side at MUSA outside Cookstown on Saturday.
Dara Mooney, Ben Dillon, Eoin McKeever and Connor Mullan all were very prominent for Loreto while Luke Mallon, Shea Magill and sub Tiarnan Kelly did well for Bessbrook, but it was a match in which the Loreto half-backs were able to break with pace and open the south Armagh side’s defence for big scores, with only points in reply.
After Shea Magill had opened the scoring with a point for Bessbrook, Dara Mooney got on the end of a speculative shot from the wing from Donal O’Kane to flick home the opening goal for Coleraine and they were to add a second after 16 minutes when Conor Kearney’s effort at a point dipped under the bar.
Mooney scored goal No 3 in the 20th minute, collecting a free from Aidan Gillen and rounding his player to find the net and there was more trouble for Bessbrook three minutes from half-time.
Paul Rafferty was on the end of a sweeping Loreto move involving Connor Mullan, Odhran McLarnon and Conor Kearney and smashed the ball low into the net for an interval advantage of 4-3 to St Paul’s 0-6.
Loreto continued to break with pace for the third quarter and stretched their advantage to 13 points with a 40th minute goal from Donal O’Kane who drove through from midfield.
However they were only to add two more points as St Paul’s, lifted by the introduction of substitute Tiarnan Kelly mounted a spirited comeback. Kelly and another sub Sean Boylan hit two points each before Kelly got in for a consolation goal for Bessbrook near the end.

Loreto: L Passmore, E Morrison, J Mullan, E McKeever, C Mullan, A Gillen, O McLarnon, D O’Kane 1-2, 0-1 free, C Calvert, C Kearney 1-0, D Mooney 2-1, B Dillon 0-4, 0-3 frees, P McGonigle, K Papachristopolous 0-1, P Rafferty 1-0.
Subs: M óg McKeown for C Kearney, N Moloney for C Calvert, C McCloskey for O McLarnon, C Kilmartin for P McGonigle, S Scullion for C Mullan

St Paul’s : C McParland, L Rice, S Finnegan, R McGuinness, O King (0-1), R Shortt, F O’Callaghan, L Mallon 0-1, J Cunningham 0-2, J Burns 0-1, C Mulligan, C Burns, J McArdle, S Magill 0-3, P McNally
Subs : T Kelly (1-2) for C Burns, C Laverty for F Ocallaghan, S Boylan 0-2 for C Laverty.