Late scores knock Cavan out of All-Ireland race

March 10, 2018

Masita GAA All Ireland Post Primary Schools’ Paul McGirr Cup semi-final
St Patrick’s Cavan 1-7 St Brendan’s Killarney 2-8
When Michael Veale, Daryl McGurren and Fionntan O’Reilly pointed in quick succession at the start of the last quarter, St Patrick’s Cavan looked capable of pushing on and claiming a place in the Masita Paul McGirr Cup final at Ferbane in Offaly on Saturday afternoon.
Those three scores cancelled out a brilliantly executed goal from Darragh Donohue in the 39th minute, Killarney’s first score of the second half.
However St Brendan’s, winners of the competition three seasons ago, raised their game once more during the final ten minutes of play to pull clear of the Danske Bank Rannafast champions.
Niall McGillicuddy hit three frees to convert a strong period of pressure into a lead and classy midfielder Michael Linehan applied the coup de grace with a super insurance point deep into injury time.
Overall however, St Brendan’s will be more pleased with the result than the performance as they hit 11 first half wides, but still led by 1-3 to 1-2 at the break, their goal a brilliant individual effort from Dylan O’Callaghan in the 28th minute.
Cavan didn’t open their account until the 18th minute with points from Jack Trainor and Daryl McGurren quickly followed by a high ball into the goal area that Matthew McGahern rose highest to punch to the Killarney net.
For a while after the break, Cavan looked the better side with half-backs, Oisin Brady and the quite brilliant Aaron McManus, tagging on points to gain a slight lead.
Then came Donohue’s goal after an excellent pass from club-mate Dylan O’Callaghan, and although Cavan re-took the lead, they were outplayed near the end and the Sem prevailed.
St Brendan’s : Dylan O’Callaghan 1-0, Darargh Donohue 1-0, Niall McGillicuddy 0-4 frees, Emmet O’Shea 0-2, Michael Lenihan 0-1, Emmet Finnan 0-1.
St Patrick’s : Matthew McGahern 1-0, Daryl McGurren 0-2, Michael Veale 0-1, Oisin Brady 0-1, Aaron McManus 0-1, Fionntan O’Reilly 0-1, Jack Trainor 0-1.