Late goal takes Macartan’s to top of Group B

November 24, 2018

Danske Bank MacRory Cup
St Patrick’s Cavan 3-6 St Macartan’s Monaghan 2-12
SUBSTITUTE Gary Mohan was the star man in Clones putting St Macartan’s Monaghan top of Group B of the Danske Bank MacRory Cup with an injury time goal.
Just a minute earlier Sean T Murphy had palmed home from close-range after an excellent hand-passing move had opened up the Sem defence.
Cavan tried to hold possession and see out their second draw of the week, but they coughed up possession and the ball was played through to Mohan. The referee seemed to signal that he was playing the advantage as Mohan went past his marker and rather than take the easy option of a point he went for glory and a dramatic end to the game.
It is a score that should guarantee football in January for St Macartan’s regardless of how their final game with Maghera pans out on Tuesday. However they had to battle from behind to take the spoils yesterday as Cavan led by 1-5 to 0-4 at the break.
Emmett Boylan managed to get a touch on a high ball in from his namesake Cian, no relation but the same club team, and claim the only goal of the half with Jack Trainor and Darryl McGurren bagging two points each.
Conor McCooey had pointed twice for the Sem in the first half, but with the slight breeze in their favour for the second half, the Monaghan side began to edge closer to Cavan with Mattie Maguire and Mohan tagging on points.
Then Cavan got a break with Eoin Clarke finishing a good run through the middle by off-loading to Emmett Boylan to slip under the advancing goalkeeper.
Lochlainn Power hit back with a goal for St Macartan’s to leave them a point in arrears and they pushed on to go three up before all the drama of the final few minutes that leaves Cavan almost certainly facing another Monaghan side, Patrician High Carrickmacross, in the elimination play-off next week.
St Macartan’s : Gary Mohan 1-2, Lochlainn Power 1-0, Mattie Maguire 0-4, 0-3 frees, Conor McCooey 0-2 frees, Niall McKenna 0-2, Chrissie Flood 0-1, Sean Trainor 0-1.
St Patrick’s : Emmett Boylan 2-1, Sean T Murphy 1-0, Darryl McGurren 0-2 frees, Jack Trainor 0-2, Eoin Brady 0-1.