Holders set up derby semi-final in MacRory

February 15, 2018

St Mary’s Magherafelt 4-9 Omagh CBS 1-3
By Séamas McAleenan
Champions St Mary’s Magherafelt took the first step in their Dankse Bank MacRory Cup title defence by cruising to victory against Omagh CBS last night to clinch the last of the semi final spots.
It was a repeat of last year’s quarter final, but this time around it was an easy passage for the winners who led 1-4 to 0-0 after nine minutes.
Magherafelt got off to a dream start, with early points from defender Simon McErlain and Tiarnan McCann. Jamie McCann swung over the bar from a free to make it a three point lead.
With just five minutes gone, the holders received another boost when full back Giuseppe Lupari found the net.
It took Omagh until the 28th minute to register a score when James Garrity lobbed over and then St Mary’s forward Adam Connolly saw red from referee Paul Faloon just before the break.
Cormac Murphy ensured Magherafelt ended the half on a high however, with a goal after a brilliant move to open a nine point lead.
Omagh CBS hit back with a Rory Kennedy goal five minutes into the second half but Conall Devlin’s second point of the game set Kevin Brady’s side back on the march and Liam Quinn bundled home a third goal as St Mary’s took complete control of the game.
Omagh had Caolán Slevin dismissed to a second booking and ‘Convent’ substitute Conor O’Neill landed two points inside a minute before Euan McBride blasted a fourth goal in the last minute to ease the champions into the last four.
The reward for St Mary’s Magherafelt is a derby clash with St Patrick’s Maghera in the semi-final on Sunday 25th February.
The other semi-final is an all-Armagh affair. St Ronan’s Lurgan were drawn against St Paul’s Bessbrook, fixed for Friday 23rd February at 7.30pm in the Athletic Grounds.
St Mary’s: O Lynch; C Doyle, G Lupari (1-0), L McElhone; J Crawford, S McErlain (0-1), J McCann (0-2 frees); R Keenan, T Donaghy; A Connolly, T McAteer (0-1), C Devlin (0-2); L Quinn (1-1, 0-1 free), C Murphy (1-0), D McAteer.
Subs: C O’Neill (0-2) for S McErlain, J McErlain for G Lupari, A McCluskey for C Doyle, R Hughes for D McAteer, R Kearns for L Quinn, E McBride (1-0) for R Keenan.
Omagh: D Devine; C Breen, A Fox, C McBride; N McCarron, C Slevin, J McRory; A Clarke, R Kennedy (1-0); O Gallogly. C Rodgers; C Colton; L Gray, J Garrity (0-2f), M Hayes.
Subs: A Montgomery for A Clarke, C Brolly (0-1) for C Rogers (HT), R Holywood for C Colton, D Fullerton for R Kennedy, P McCaughey for O Gallogly.
Referee: P Faloon (Down)