Holders first into Rannafast Cup semi-finals

November 08, 2017

Danske Bank Rannafast Cup quarter-final

St Patrick’s Maghera 3-15 St Mary’s Magherafelt 2-4

Holders St Patrick’s Maghera are the first team into this season’s Danske Bank Rannafast Cup semi-finals after yesterday’s comfortable victory over neighbours St Mary’s Magherafelt.

They led by 1-7 to 0-2 at the turnover with Enda Downey delivering the goal from a spot-kick after Sean Kearney had been taken down in the 21st minute. Both Downey and Kearney hit two points each in that opening half hour.

There was a glimmer of hope for the Convent on the re-start when Kevin McNicholl fired home a goal. But Maghera responded immediately with a goal from Kearney. When Cahir Higgins added a point, the initiative was lost once more.

Higgins scored Maghera’s third major ten minutes from the end and they ran out easy winners despite a second Magherafelt goal from Adam Canavan.

Maghera will face the winners of tomorrow’s (THURSDAY) quarter-final between St Michael’s Enniskillen and St Patrick’s Academy, while St Colman’s Newry will face St Macartan’s Monaghan on Friday in Culloville.

The last of the quarter-finals, between Abbey CBS and St Patrick’s Cavan, has had to be postponed due to a bereavement and is likely to be played on Monday now.

St Patrick’s : Enda Downey 1-4, Sean Kearney 1-3, Cahir Higgins 1-3, Jarlath McWilliams 0-2, Oisin McClafferty 0-1, Saoirse lagan 0-1, PJ McAleese 0-1.

St Mary’s : Kevin McNicholl 1-0, Adam Canavan 1-0, Eunan McElhennon 0-2, Johnny McErlean 0-1, Aidan McCloskey 0-1