Goal rush sees St Conor’s into first final

December 05, 2018

Danske Bank Gerry Brown Cup semi-final
St Conor’s Kilrea/Clady 6-4 Dean Maguirc Carrickmore 1-10
THIS Danske Bank Gerry Brown Cup semi-final was a tale of two second half penalties; Dean Maguirc Carrickmore missed their spot-kick, but Oisin Casey converted his for St Conor’s Kilrea/Clady eight minutes from time.
St Conor’s then pushed on to score further goals from Se Melaugh and Ciaran McAleese to give the final score-line a much more comfortable look than the game deserved.
When Casey stood over the penalty, Oisin Rafferty had just made the scoreboard read 3-3 to 1-10, a single point in favour of Carrickmore, but the Tyrone side couldn’t add to that tally while the east Derry side pulled away.
This was in contrast to the first half at the end of which Carrickmore held a 1-7 to 1-2 lead, their goal a fine individual effort from Ronan Fox after 25 minutes.
The Tyrone team’s problem really was that they could add just three more points to their total while goals from John Paul Hasson and Oisin Casey narrowed the gap before the penalty changed the landscape entirely.
St Conor’s : John Paul Hasson 2-0, Oisin Casey 2-0, Ciaran McAleese 1-1, Se Melaugh 1-0, Tommy Rodgers 0-2, Cahair O’Neill 0-1
Dean Maguirc : Ronan Fox 1-1, Oisin Rafferty 0-6, Michael Coyle 0-1, Ryan Coyle 0-1, Michael Rafferty 0-1