Donaghmore take JM Murphy title

June 06, 2018

St Joseph’s Donaghmore take Danske Bank JM Murphy title
ST JOSEPH’s Donaghmore powered to their fourth Ulster schools’ football title of the year yesterday when they claimed the Danske Bank JM Murphy Cup at Aquinas Grammar on the Ravenhill Road.
The early morning group games saw some excellent football with all matches fairly competitive and played in a wonderful spirit. Donaghmore finished top of their group defeating St Ciaran’s Ballygawley, St Patrick’s Keady, Loreto Coleraine and St Louis Kilkeel.
In the final they defeated Rathmore Grammar 1-6 to 1-2 having survived an epic semi-final against Aquinas Grammar school where the bare minimum separated the teams in the end.
Already winners of the Oisin McGrath Shield in Term 1, this group of players have certainly put themselves on the Ulster Schools’ map this year and they should enjoy a special sports’ celebration afternoon in the school next Friday (June 15th, where their two trophies will sit beside the Dasnke Bank Irish News and McDevitt Cups, the first time the school has collected four provincial titles in the same school year.

Winning JM Murphy Cup squad 2018
Cormac Cunnigham
Dara Quinn
Joey Clarke
Jude Mc Nally
Jamie Mc Carthy
Tiegan Burns
Paul Hanna/Corr
Sean Og Coleman
John Mc Kenna
Daragh Carberry
Conor O Neill
Leo Hughes
Joseph Corrigan
Noagh Grimes
Conor Nugent
Lorcan Ferguson
PJ Cassidy
R Mc Gibbon
John Kelly
Daithi Colton
Dara Devlin
Kieran Devlin
Jacub Kupilis
Senan Nugent
Kiernan Devlin
Damien Dunlop