Bua ag Gaelcholáiste i gCorn Mac Neasa

January 24, 2019

Danske Bank Corn Mac Neasa final
Gaelcholáiste Dhoire 4-9 CBS Glen Road Belfast 1-6
GAELCHOLÁISTE Dhoire collected the Danske Bank Corn Mac Neasa for the first time ever with a controlled performance in yesterday’s final against Glen Road CBS in Cookstown.
They laid the foundations for victory in the opening half and turned over with a 2-7 to 0-1 advantage, the goals coming from Lúc Mac Giolla Chomhaill in the first minute and Tadhg Mac Ainmhire after 20 minutes.
CBS were on the back foot from early in the game with full-forward Corey McNelis having to retire injured on 15 minutes and then stand in ‘keeper Ruairí Ó Mianáin saved a 25th minute penalty from Antóin Hanna to keep CBS at bay.
However Hanna got a second chance from the spot five minutes after the break and this time slotted home to give his side a glimmer of hope. Indeed the Glen Road side improved significantly for the second half but it was a long way back and goals in the 43rd and 49th minutes from PJ Ó Muilleoir and Ronán Mac Con Midhe shut them out.
The better balanced Dungiven side were deserving winners with strong performances from Rónán Mac Con Midhe, Ruairí Ó Mhianáin and PJ Ó Muilleoir while Antóin Hanna, James Devine and Rian Brown did well for the losers
Gaelcholáiste : M Ó Catháin, S Ó Catháin, O Mac an tSionnaigh, F Ó Muirí, C Ó Mianáin, R Ó Mianáin (0-2), D Mac Conmidhe, PJ Ó Muilleoir (1-0), R Mac Conmidhe (1-2), G Ó Diolúin (0-5), M Ó Cinnéide, L Mac Giolla Comhaill (1-0), C Ó Conaire, C Ó Gruagáin, T Mac Ainmhire (1-0)
Subs : D Ó Búistéir for Thadhg Mac Ainmhire (55), T Mac Cathmhaoil for M Ó Cinnéide (55)
CBS : J Ireland, D Gough-Doran, J Devine, V McElkerney, M McConnell, R Brown (0-1), D Young (0-1), C Kelly, B Quinn (0-1), A Hanna (1-1), C McKernan, D Farrelly (0-1), L Burns, C McNelis, J Thompson (0-1).
Subs : R Massey for C McNelis (15), G Maguire for C McKernan (HT), M óg Gaskin for A Hanna (50), S Thompson for D Gough-Doran(55)