Ballybay retain Danske Bank Faul Cup

February 24, 2020

Danske Bank Faul Cup final
Ballybay CC 1-13 Bailieborough CS 1-7
From Sean McCaffrey in Clones

Ballybay Community College retained their U19D Danske Bank Faul cup title with 6 points to spare over the Cavan representatives Baileborough Community School at the Peace Link in Clones on Monday evening.
Played in chilly but dry conditions on the 3G surface that added an extra bit of zip to the ball speed, the defending champions had the benefit of the swirling breeze on their backs in the first half and made good use of it to take in a 1-05 to 0-04 point lead at the break, the goal coming after 7 minutes from a well constructed move from a turn over in the centre of the field that moved quickly through the hands of Darragh Mc Elearney, Julius Sniauksta and Darragh Dempsey before Shane Slevin got on the end of it to raise the green flag.
It was no more than Ballybay deserved as they made their early dominance pay in the opening quarter.
Darragh Dempsey opened with the first of his 10 converted free’s inside 4 minutes after a foul on Aaron Hamilton as the champions opted to run at pace at the Baileborough rear guard.
Michael Kenny did level in the 5th minute after Conrad Cooney was fouled but 2 minutes later the Ballybay goal arrived to put 3 between them.
The Cavan champions did reply with Cormac O’ Reilly taking a great mark in the middle of the field before placing a lovely ball into Eoin Morrissey who fired over and that was followed up a minute later with Ben Mulvey driving an effort over the bar, but that was as close as it got, as Ballybay continued with their direct running lead by the impressive Eoin Duffy and captain Darragh Mc Elearney.
The Latton and Drumhowan club men using their strength to draw fouls which Darragh Dempsey was more that happy to dispatch over the bar from a variety of angles and distances.
Michael Kenny did momentarily lift the pressure on the Baileborogh rear guard with a pointed effort but Dempsey was back on target at the other end as the foul count continued to add up against the Cavan defence.
4 points separated the sides at the break with Ballybay going in 1-05 to 0-04 points up.
Baileborough were also forced into a change midway through the half as Jake Norris picked up a knee injury and was replaced by Andrew Farrelly.
With the breeze now on their backs for the 2nd 30 minutes, Baileborough would have been looking for the perfect start but once again Ballybay went with a direct approach at the heart of their defence with Darragh Dempsey punishing any indiscretion with an alarming amount of accuracy from placed ball.
3 further points followed from his boot to give his side a 1-08 to 4 point lead.
Baileborough were thrown a life line in the 41st minute when Julius Sniauksta was shown a black card and in the 7 minutes of the 10 that he was off they produced 1-02 with out reply with points from Michael Kenny and Eoin Morrissey before Andrew Farrelly pounced on a rare mistake in the Ballybay defence to finish past Ryan Johnston.
Bringing it back to a 2 point game, the intensity went up a notch with referee Mark Loughran flashing 4 yellow cards in quick succession to calm things down.
Darragh Dempsey continued to punish from placed ball with Eoin Duffy becoming the first Ballybay player to raise a white flag from play with 9 minutes remaining. That score also seen the return back of Julius to make it 15 on 15 once again.
Sean Kenny did bring it back to a 3 point game with 7 to play but that was to be their last score as Dempsey entered his double figures of converted frees, Shane Slevin added to his earlier goal and Eoin Duffy completed the scoring to ensure his side made it back to back Ulster titles and remain on course to defend their All Ireland Crown.
Ballybay :- Ryan Johnston, Thomas McPhillips, Mark Hughes, Thomas Keenan, James Hughes, Eoin Duffy, Aaron Hamilton, Shane Slevin, James Slevin, Darragh Mc Elearney, Darragh Dempsey, Julius Sniauksta, Tristan Keenan, Dara Mc Cann, Michael Coyle.
Subs :- James Mc Adam, Lorcan Halpin, Killian Mc Geough, Ruairi Duffy, Caolum Sherry, Pearse Mc Mahon, Ryan Duffy, Christian Hughes, Aaron Duffy, Cian Hughes, Kevin Mc Phillips, Mark Lavelle, Patrick Kearns, Aaron Smith, Aaron Reilly, Evan Coyle, Matthew Lennon, Jack Dempsey.
Subs used :- Ryan Duffy for Aaron Hamilton, James Mc Adam for Tristan Keenan, Cian Hughes for James Hughes.
Scorers :- Darragh Dempsey (0-10f), Shane Slevin (1-01), Julius Sniauksta (0-02)
Baileborough :- Michael Gargan, Jack Sheridan, Luke Crossan, Ruairi O’Sullivan, Oisin Clarke, Aaron Reele, Shaun Clarke, Ben Mulvey, Jake Norris, Cormac O’Reilly, Eoin Morrissey, Michael Kenny, Conrad Cooney, Sean Kenny, Colin Gargan.
Subs :- Oisin O’Hanlon, Fergal Smith, Andrew Farrelly, Jack Mc Guinness, Glen Clarke, Justin Cahill, Gary O’Brien, Darren Briody, Cian Donohoe, Dylan Turner, Oran Mc Intyre, Diarmuid Donnellan, Kyle McIntyre, Luke O’Sullivan
Subs used :- Andrew Farrelly for Jake Norris (Inj), Fergal Smith for Jack Sheridan, Dylan Turner for Conrad Cooney, Jack Mc Guinness for Ben Mulvey.
Scorers :- Michael Keeny (0-3 2f), Eoin Morrissey (0-02), Ben Mulvey (0-01), Andrew Farrelly (1-00), Sean Kenny (0-01)

Referee : Mark Loughran (Tyrone)