Aquinas win Year 8 football blitz

June 15, 2019

Pictured is the Aquinas Grammar Belfast team that won the Danske Bank JJ Murphy Cup at the weekend.
The boys from the Ravenhill Road nipped across to Cherryvale and won the competition for just the second time ever with group wins over Loreto Coleraine and St Joseph’s Crossmaglen followed by success over Rathmore Grammar and St Malachy’s Belfast in the knock-out stages.
The final against St Ciaran’s Ballygawley went to two periods of extra time and was won right at the death when a goal from Dara Oglsby completed a comeback from five points down to clinch the title.
Top performers for Aquinas were Daniel Kinney, John Dougan, Jack McConvile, Sean Doyle and Oisin O’Hare with Kinney picking up Player of the Tournament.