Aquinas win JM Murphy Cup

June 21, 2017

The Year 8 Gaelic footballers won the JM Murphy Cup, hosted in Aquinas Grammar on Friday 16th June.

Aquinas beat St. Ciaran’s Ballygawley and St Josephs Crossmaglen in the group stages with star performances coming from Peter Mullholland, Daniel Carlin and the ever accurate Ruairi Hamilton. Niall Duffy was on hand with two goals along with points from Jack Toner and Jamie Cunningham.

Aquinas played St Pauls Bessbrook in the Semi final, a tight game played in adverse weather conditions. Great determination was shown by the team and again, goals from Niall Duffy and a host of points from Jack Toner lead the team to a 5 point victory. Manus McCrossan, Oisin Fahy and Rory Donaldson were outstanding in defence strongly marshalled by keeper Sean McGarry.

The final was against St Josephs Coalisland, some fantastic play by Tom McCarroll and Jamie Cunningham set the tone for this victory. Niall Duffy took the game by the scruff the neck and fired low into the bottom corner, this was followed by important scores from Eunan O’Hare. A fine display of place kicking from Jack Toner was complimented by an outstanding and disciplined centre half back performance by Samir O’Hare.

Congratulation to all players who have trained every Wednesday since September and have reaped the rewards with victory in the Oisin McGrath shield and the JM Murphy Cup.

Images and Video can be viewed at