Aquinas & Clady draw in O’Doherty Classic

February 21, 2017

Danske Bank O’Doherty Cup semi-final

Aquinas Grammar 1-12 St Mary’s Clady 1-12

Twice during yesterday’s Danske Bank O’Doherty Cup semi-final, Aquinas Grammar came back from the dead to deny St Mary’s Clady in this extra-time epic in Newbridge.

The most dramatic scores came from Eoin Nagle and Conal McHugh in added time to bring the tie to extra time and then in the 78th minute Player of the Match Phelim Lennon fired over his third point to force a replay on Friday.

Other players to stand out in a fine game that only dropped in quality as the weather deteriorated during extra-time were Aquinas centre half back Brian McCarthy and goalie Jack McAufield while Damon Gallagher, Brogan McClafferty and Fintan Bradley almost had Clady through to the final.

Aquinas however got a tremendous start with Phelim Lennon crashing home a second minute goal. Eoin Nagle (2), Lorcan Fahy and Andrew Harney all added points during the opening quarter.

It took all of 18 minutes for Clady to open their account with a point from Shane O’Neill, but by the break they were just two points in arrears at 1-6 to 1-4. The goal came from a long free from Damon Gallagher that was touched home by Conor Mullan, with Paul Cassidy quickly adding two points.

The teams traded points during the third quarter, before Clady made a bid for home with Conor Mullan (2), Ruairi Henry and Damon Gallagher putting them ahead at 1-9 to 1-8.

Seven minutes from time, Fintan Bradley pointed a 45, but was then black-carded. However Clady’s two points’ cushion good enough until, in the last few minutes of added time, Conal McHugh quickly followed up on Nagle’s point with one of his own.

Scoring slowed up during extra-time as the rain took over. Gallagher pointed from a dead ball in the first half, with Lennon equalising on the resumption of play.

Gallagher again pointed a free, but two minutes from full-time Lennon tagged on a score to bring the teams back to Newbridge on Friday.

St Mary’s : Conor Mullan 1-2, Damon Gallagher 0-5, Paul Cassidy 0-2, Ruairi Henry 0-1, Fintan Bradley 0-1, Shane O Neill 0-1.

Aquinas : Phelim Lennon 1-2, Eoin Nagle 0-3, Eoin McMenamin 0-2, Lorcan Fahy 0-1, Andrew Harney 0-1, Conal McHugh

Referee : Paul Coyle (Tyrone)