Academy win Brock

December 11, 2019

Danske Bank Brock Cup Final
St Patrick’s Academy 1-10 St Macartan’s Monaghan 1-9
ST PATRICK’S Academy Dungannon are the first winners of the new Danske Bank Brock Cup, but it took more than 80 minutes of tough football yesterday in Clogher to wrestle it from the grasp of St Macartan’s Monaghan.
The game twisted and turned during the second half, but Eoghan Donnelly’s excellent point in the 57th minute tied the teams and sent the game to extra time. That delivered just the one score, an Eoghan Devlin point four minutes in, but that was enough to seal the title for the East Tyrone side.
The Academy had good performances from Seamus Glackin, Matthew Duffy and Luke Cullen, while St Macartan’s were best served by Killian McKenna, Tiarnan O’Rourke and Kevin Fitzpatrick, and the introduction of sub Dara McKenna injected life into the Sem attack.
Despite Shane Mackle hitting a goal for the Academy after ten minutes, St Macartan’s were the better team during the opening half and deservedly led by 1-6 to 1-3 at the break, Dara McKenna scoring their goal after 23 minutes while he, Killian McKenna and Kevin Fitzpatrick each scored two points.
However the Academy upped the ante significantly during the third quarter and hit five unanswered points to move ahead, 1-8 to 1-6, after 42 minutes.
Points from Killian McKenna and Kevin Fitzpatrick levelled the game though and then Fitzpatrick edged the Sem ahead only for Donnelly to tie the teams on 1-9 each and force extra time.
St Patrick’s : M Lyttle, S Mackle (1-2, 0-1 free), C Skeffington, L Quinn, S Muldoon, S Glackin, M Duffy, E Donnelly (0-4), F Devlin, E Devlin (0-1), T O’Neillcapt, L Cullen (0-2), J McLaughlin, D Mallon (0-1), D Sheeran.
Subs : S Casey for J McLaughlin, J Watt fro L Cullen, C Slater for S Muldoon.
St Macartan’s : B Sherry, B Walker, P Keenan, L Conway, J McKenna, C Liddle capt, L McElwaine, T Moyna, T O’Rourke, M McPhillips, C Donnelly, L Kelly, K McKenna (0-3), K Fitzpatrick (0-4), R Corrigan.
Subs : D McKenna (1-2) for C Liddle, A McCaughey for R Corrigan, R Treanor for L Conway.
Referee : E McConnell (Tyrone)